Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Protecting Alaska's Cook Inlet watershed and the life it sustains since 1995.
Sign up for email updates
Sections
You are here: Home Get Involved Write a Letter to the Editor

Write a Letter to the Editor

  • Choose your publication: Don’t hesitate to send your letter to multiple media outlets.
  • Grab readers’ attention. The first sentence is the most important – state your main point right away. Make it personal. Tell your story. Be specific.
  • Give a brief background. Don’t assume your audience is as well informed as you are about the issue. Use language that’s easy to understand.
  • Be concise. Stay well under word limits. The shorter your letter, the more likely it’ll be published. If you want to write a longer piece, ask the editor if you can submit an opinion feature or guest column.
  • Proofread and edit. Improve clarity and catch mistakes by reading your letter aloud. Ask someone else to read it too.
  • Sign the letter with your full name (and title, if relevant), address, e-mail, and phone number. The paper will want to verify who you are.
  • Make a follow up phone call to the editorial page editor one day after you submit your letter. Ask if your letter was received and make a quick pitch about why the paper should print it.

Media Contacts

Alaska Dispatch News letters@adn.com | Fax: 907.258.2157 | 
Deadline: Rolling | Word limit: 155 Letter to the editor; 675 Compass Piece

Anchorage Press | info@anchoragepress.com | Fax: 907.561.7777

The Northern Light (UAA) | nlopinions@uaa.alaska.edu

Juneau Empire editor@juneauempire.com | Fax: (907) 586-3028 | 
Word limit: 400 Letters to the editor; 700 "My Turn" guest editorials

Capital City Weeklyeditor@capweek.com | Fax: 907.789.0987 | 
Word limit: 500

Homer News | letters@homernews.com | Fax: 907.235.4199

Homer Tribune | letters@homertribune.com | Fax: 907.235.3716 |

Peninsula Clarionnews@peninsulaclarion.com | Fax: 907.283.3299

Redoubt Reporterredoubtreporter@alaska.net | 907-394-NEWS (6397)

Kodiak Daily Mirror editor@kodiakdailymirror.com | 907.486.3227 | Fax: 907.486.3088 | 
Word limit: 350 | Deadline: Two days (i.e. submit Tues, published Thurs)

Mat-Su Valley Frontiersmaninfo@frontiersman.com | 907-352-2250 | Fax: 907.352.227

Seward Phoenix Loglogrussell@gci.net | Fax: 907.224.3157

Turnagain Times ttimes@chugach.net | Fax: 907.783.1136

Alaska Dispatch | Online only | editor@alaskadispatch.com | Fax: 907.743.0729